See the presenttopmods-box
Give your customers more than they expect. Go one step further & look at what we offer.
Web Solutionstopmods-cart
Check out our full range of website services, from e-commerce to community building.
Social Media topmods-social
It is vital to get your social media message heard. It is a skilled job for professionals. See our social media plans.

Big Picture Ads

Banner

Who's Online

We have 14 guests online
The Big Picture Ads
Banner
Share to Linkedin Share to Myspace Share to Delicious Share to Google 
Paypal Spam Phishing
Written by David Eagle   
Saturday, 25 September 2010 07:48

This email arrived in the inbox the other day and is yet another example of devious spam attempts to gain access to your hard earned money.

This phishing kind of email is quite sneaky as it appears to be quite legitimate, until you look a bit closer.

I thankfully have some extra layers of security in my system, and Mozilla Thunderbird (the programme I use to access email) has a great feature that also gives you the email address from which the remote content (such as images) is being blocked.
I have set it up by default to block all embedded images from those addresses I have not authorised. This is highly recommended as images can sometimes contain nasties like keystroke loggers and spy bots and the like.

Hit the read more to see the email.

So here is a screen grab from Thunderbird.

paypal-scam

As you may or may not be able to see at the very top Thunderbird informs me that it has blocked remote content, and asks me if I wish to load remote content from securityalerts @ webssl.com.
First alarm bell. The email says that it is from paypal so surely any content would be attached to a @paypal.com account?

A quick check of my Paypal account using my presaved (favourited) link, shows that there are no payment pending transactions, so one must assume that this is a scam.
A quick hover over the link brings up the following URL in Thunderbirds information window:
http://cs-elita.pl/ssl218/dispatch-5885d80a13c0db1f22d2300ef60a6759516e590e949da361fd1b680561e9552a

And why would I want to click on this link????

I would hazard a guess to say that the final destination of the link is set up like a paypal page and they want you to enter your details, or perhaps it is a page with embedded keystroke loggers and spyware so that they can watch and record the next time you use online banking. Who knows, it is all possible out there, and I for one am not brave enough to even go looking....

 

theNaturalOptions.com